History of your favorite tourist sites
The History of Kitch-iti-kipi
John I. Bellaire, owner of a Manistique Five and Dime store, fell in love with the black hole spring when he discovered it in the thick wilderness of Michigan's Upper Peninsula in the 1920s. It was hidden in a tangle of fallen trees and loggers were using the nearby area as a dump.
Bellaire saw its potential as a public recreational spot. He could have purchased the spring and adjoining property himself; however, he persuaded Frank Palms of the Palms Book Land Company to sell the spring and 90 acres (36 ha) to the state of Michigan for $10. The property deed requires the property to be forever used as a public park, bearing the name Palms Book State Park. The State of Michigan has since acquired adjacent land so the park now encompasses over 300 acres.
The Legend of Kitch-iti-kipi
The legend of Kitch-iti-kipi is said to be about a young chieftain whose girlfriend got the best of him. He told her he loved her far above the other dark-haired maidens dancing near his birch bark wigwam. Prove it, she insisted. As a test of his devotion, she declared that he must set sail in his canoe on the pool deep in the conifer swamp. He was to catch her from his canoe as she leaped from an overhanging bough. His canoe overturned in the icy waters and he drowned. It turns out that the maiden was back at the village laughing at his foolish quest. According to legend, the spring was named Kitch-iti-kipi in memory of the young chieftain who went to his death in the icy waters in an attempt to satisfy the vain caprice of his ladylove.
Bishop Baraga shrine
Known as, “The Apostle of the Ottawas and Chippewas.” Bishop Baraga was born and trained in Europe. Baraga founded several missions in Northern Michigan, the original Indian lake mission, was built in anticipation of his first visit to the area in May of 1832. This beautiful chapel was built by the local Chippewas, and was build using the traditional Indian construction methods and material such as logs and bars
Manistique water tower
Manistique’s historic water tower, which is formally known as “the Manistique Pumping station,” was built in 1922. Located in the heart of Manistique, the charming old brick building shows not only the community but also the visitors the beautiful and unique agricultural design of the early 1920’s. The water tower was registered a historic site in 1980 and was then registered with the National Register of Historic Buildings on October 26th, 1981. Though the water tower is not used as a pumping station anymore, visitors can visit the water tower to see local historical artifacts and exhibits, and also visit the historical society’s gift shop.
Manistique Light house
In the beginning of the 20th century Manistique was a very active town. The timber industry was bringing more jobs in than ever and the pig iron shipping was shipping from the harbor daily. In 1920, the leaders of Manistique asked the Federal government of the financial importance of a safe harbor. The contract to construct the breakaway was given to Grewiling Brothers company, and constructed started in 1910.